How to read the posts

The posts are arranged here with the most recent appearing at the top of the page. If you are new to the blog, you might find it useful to start with the first posts. Go to the blog archive on the lower right to access the posts in the order in which they were written.

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Opening to insight: The three unwholesome roots

Three unwholesome roots-- bird for greed, snake for anger and pig for delusion

In Theravada Buddhism, the three unwholesome roots are lobha or greed (attachment), dosa or anger (aversion) and moha or delusion (ignorance).  They are the roots of mental suffering and keep us chained to samsara, the cycle of birth and death.  Liberation from suffering involves a process of purification, an uprooting of these kilesas or defilements.

In Mahayana Buddhism, this unwholesome triad is referred to as the three poisons.  The picture below is very much in keeping with the concept.
The three poisons by Giruveganus

No comments:

Post a Comment